14 March 2007

More New Year Celebrations

Today is Sikh New Year!

Did you know that there are new year celebrations every month? For those who thought that New Year comes once in a year, think again! New Years are celebrated several times through all of the 12 months of the year! Here are some of them!

1 - New Year's Day (Gregorian calendar) - The most widely celebrated holiday.
1 - Japanese New Year's Day - Also known as Gantan-sai or Oshogatsu.
7 - Egyptian New Year's Day (Sekhmet)
8 - Druidic New Year
11- Old Scottish New Year
Mahayana Buddhist New Year is celebrated on the first full moon day in January.
14 - Eastern Orthodox New Year's Day
14 - Julian Calendar New Year
21 - Celtic New Year
Korean New Year (Sol-Nal) (Lunar New Year) is celebrated at sunset on the day of the second new moon after the winter solstice.
Tibetan New Year (Losar) is celebrated in late January or early February at the time of the new moon.
Vietnamese New Year or Tet is celebrated between January 17 and February 19 at the time of the new moon.
Chinese New Year is celebrated between January 21 and February 20 on the second (very rarely third) new moon after the winter solstice

Tibetan New Year (Ugyen Thinley Dorje) - Some Tibetans celebrate their New Year a month later than the Lunar New Year as Ugyen Thinley Dorje.
Muharram is the first month of the Muslim year and its first day is celebrated as Islamic New Year's Day.

1 - Roman New Year also called the Festival of Mars (Feriae Marti) honouring Mars, the Roman god of war.
8 - Sun Rise Day — The world's most northerly village, Longyearbyen, Norway celebrates the first dawn of the new year (their New Year's Day). Around noon on this day, they celebrate their first glimpse of the sun since it sat in October. The long night of winter is compensated by the midnight sun of summer.
14 - Sikh New Year Day - the first day of Chet, the first month of the Sikh calendar.
21 - Astrological New Year
21 - The Baha'i New Year (Naw-Ruz)
Hindu New Year also known as Bikrami Samvat falls on the day following the new moon on or after the spring equinox.
Persian or Iranian New Year (Noruz) is always held on the spring equinox.
Assyrian New Year, called Rish Nissanu, occurs on the vernal equinox, commencing the start of the spring.
Telugu New Year's Day also known as Ugadi is celebrated on the day after the new moon following the vernal equinox (first day of spring).
21 - Zoroastrian New Year or Jamshedi

Theravadin Buddhist New Year - The Tharavadin Buddhists of Thailand, Burma, Sri Lanka, Cambodia, and Lao celebrate the New Year on the first full moon day with three days of celebration.
14 - Solar New Year (Songkran) - This new year's day is celebrated in many southeast Asia countries as Baisakhi in India, Bangladesh, and Sri Lanka (or Varushapirapu); Songkran in Thailand; Boum Pimay or Bun-Pi-Mai-Lao in Laos; Thingyan in Myanmar; and Bon Chol Chhnam in Cambodia. The exact time on the 13th or 14th is determined by astrologers.
14 - Nepali New Year Day - The specific time of the New Year is set by astrologers on the 13th or 14th.
13 or 14 - Sikh New Year Day (Vaisaki or Baisakhi) -On this day in 1699, Guru Gobind Singh created the Brotherhood of the Pure. April 14 - Sinhala /Tamil New Year's Day - Sri Lankans celebrate their national New Year's Day (Puththandu in Tamil and Aluth Avurudhu in Sinhala). The specific time of the New Year is set by astrologers. The Tamil New Year and Vishu are celebrated on the same day respectively in the Southern Indian states of Tamil Nadu and Kerala.
13-15 - Thai New Year
13-15 - Cambodian New Year and Lao New Year
14 or 15 - Bengali New Year called Pohela Baisakh
22 - Parsi New Year Day also known as Pateti is celebrated on April 23 (April 22nd on leap years), this is one of the local new years celebrated in India.
24 - Babylonian New Year - The Babylonian New Year begins the Nabonassar Era Year 2752 on April 25th (24th on leap years).

26 - Buddhist New Year also known as Buddha Purnima or Buddha Jayanti - Some Buddhist sects celebrate Budhha's birthday on the eighth day of the fourth lunar month as their New Year's Day. Note: Some sects now celebrate Buddha's birthday on April 8th.

21 - Ancient Greek New Year - Some versions of the ancient Greek calendar celebrated the new year on the summer solstice.

9 - Armenian New Year - The Armenian Era, an old way of measuring time, began on July 9, 552.

Malayalam New Year - On the new moon in late August or early September (the first day of the Hindu month of Bhadon), the southern Indian state of Kerala celebrates its new year.
23 - Zoroastrian New Year (Shenshai), for those Zoroastrians who follow the Shenshai calendar.

1 - Orthodox Christian New Year - This day marks the New Year for some Russian Orthodox Christians.
10 - African New Year
11 (12th in leap years) - Ethiopian New Years Day - This is a national holiday in Ethiopia.
16 - Rosh Hashanah or Jewish New Year begins on the first day of the Jewish month of Tishri (Tishrei), is also called the Day of Judgment and Remembrance.

3 - Moroccan New Year's Day

Hindu New Year (Diwali) is celebrated on the new moon in late October or early November. It is considered by some as one of the Hindu New Years (sometimes celebrated the day after Diwali as Vikram New Year). The Marwari New Year is celebrated on the day of the festival of Diwali Jain New Year - Celebrated on the day after Diwali, this is the New Year's day for the Jain religion. It is the day after of the attainment of Moksha by Mahavir Swami and the day when his chief disciple Gautam Swami attained Kevalgnan. The Gujarati New Year is usually celebrated the day after the festival of Diwali (which occurs in mid-autumn - either October or November, depending on the Lunar calendar.

Sikkimese New Year - The Sikkimese New Year or Losoong is celebrated from the first to fifth day of the Lunar 11th month. It is also called Sonam Losar or the Farmer's New Year.

No comments: